
Skidz forgot his glasses so I would have forgiven him the fact that he thought the ice houses in the distance were buffalo, except for the fact that at least 2 had headlights...
Man the insanity was rampant out at Lake Poinsett, I still do not see the excitment in driving thousands of pounds of machinery out on 17 inches of ice, sitting in a 4x6 outhouse and watching the hole (which is further weakening the integretity of your temporary surface, btw) for a future meal to appear. As for me, give me a boat, a 80 degree day, and a beer and I will gladly drown worms, this 0 degree crap is insane. I swear I saw a bonfire out there as well. The only ice you will catch me on better be indoors with a zambini.
So, with my obvious enthusiasm for ice fishing, what the H was I doing out there? I finally got to have some alone time - the 'rents were over for the weekend, so as soon as they departed I was scouring the tree line for a tin holding geo-crap. Found it, logged it, skidz took a toy for the princess, I left my usual better than the cache deserves loot, and hi-tailed my butt back home. But before I did, I realized Skidz has never been out on the ice, so we had to make a pit stop. He wanted me to drive out there, but with my luck my 1/2 ton car would be the straw that broke the camel and there would be about 300 ice fisherman out there trying to get their Dodge Dakotas from the bottom of the lake. I know there is a snowball's chance of that happenin' but why risk it.
Someday I may have to bite it and take Skidz ice fishing, but I am still holding out for the chance that one of his friend's father will gladly volenteer to freeze his ass of instead.






